Hendaye, here in the Basque Country, at the gates of Spain, between the Atlantic and the Pyrenees, a paradise for water sports enthusiasts (kayaking, surfing, sailing, paddle), and hiking, golf, cycling and rugby.

Hendaye is famous for its beautiful 3 km-long sandy beach with its legendary rocks, the 2 Twins. The majority of the facades of the houses located on the waterfront and in many of its neighbourhoods are classified (the Red House). They are the work of the famous architect Edmond Durandeau of Hendaye dating back to the early 20th century. The Sokoburu esplanade, neo Basque style, houses the Thalassotherapy Centre Serge Blanco, the Casino, its restaurants, tapas bars, its market and flea market. The Marie-Louise, river shuttle takes you from the marina to the picturesque village of Hondarribia.

The walk along the bay of Txingudy bordering the Bidassoa River leads to the small Caneta fishing port where you will see the remains of Vauban’s ramparts, and two houses with stunning views of Hondarribia, listed as Historical Monuments since 2011: Bakar Etchea, the house of Pierre Loti and the Mauresque Villa. Near the Ametza campsite in Hendaye, the Abbadie Estate and Château, protected natural site overlooking the ocean, the coastal path offers a magnificent panorama (La Rhune and 3 Crowns Mountains, cliffs and coves …). The Vélodyssée or Atlantic Cycling Route from Roscoff to Hendaye, ends in the French Basque Country, after a beautiful end of journey along the Basque coastal path, splendid view over the Bay of Biscay. This greenway, beautiful and sunny, continues onto the Txingudy Bay all the way to Port Caneta, and continues as far as the city limit of Hendaye (Béhobie) on a footbridge built on stilts, offering a seductive spectacle of the islands and marshes of the Bidasoa River inhabited by many birds.

Without a doubt!
Hendaye !

Hendaye, c’est ici, au Pays Basque, aux portes de l’Espagne, entre Atlantique et Pyrénées, paradis pour les amateurs de sports aquatiques (kayak, surf, voile, paddle…), et de randonnées, golf, vélo et rugby.

Hendaye est réputée pour sa belle plage de sable fin longue de 3km avec ses rochers mythiques, les 2 jumeaux. Les façades des maisons situées sur le front de mer et dans de nombreux quartiers, sont pour la plupart classées (la Maison Rouge). Elles sont l’œuvre au début du siècle du célèbre architecte hendayais Edmond Durandeau. L’esplanade Sokoburu, au style néo basque, abrite le centre de Thalassothérapie de Serge Blanco, le Casino, ses restaurants, ses bars à tapas, son marché et sa brocante. La Marie-Louise, navette fluviale, vous emmène du port de plaisance à Fontarrabie, village espagnol, pittoresque.

La balade sur la baie de Txingudy, le long de la Bidassoa conduit vers le petit port de pêche de Caneta, vous y verrez les vestiges des remparts de Vauban, et deux maisons à la vue imprenable sur Fontarrabie, inscrites aux Monuments historiques depuis 2011 : Bakar Etchea, la maison de Pierre Loti et la villa Mauresque. Proche du camping Hendayais Ametza, le Domaine et le Château d’Abbadia, site naturel protégé dominent l’océan, le sentier du littoral offre un panorama grandiose (montagnes de la Rhune, 3 couronnes, falaises et criques…). La Vélodyssée ou l’Atlantique en roue libre de Roscoff à Hendaye, s’achève au Pays Basque, après une belle fin de parcours le long de la Corniche Basque, splendide vue sur le Golfe de Gascogne. Cette voie verte, belle et ensoleillée, se poursuit sur la baie de Txingudy jusqu’au port de Caneta, pour continuer à la limite d’Hendaye (Béhobie) sur une passerelle construite sur pilotis, offrant un spectacle séduisant sur les îles et marais de la rivière Bidassoa peuplés de nombreux oiseaux.


ASSURÉMENT
Hendaye !


Actualités Hendaye